Problem: Students click on a link from the Canvas To Do list or from inside a module and get a pop up error message stating they are "unauthorized" to access the content.


Explanation: Unauthorized messages are always related to locked content.  Faculty lock the content by date (not available until...) or by setting requirements that must be completed to unlock the content.  Students are not authorized to view the content because the date has not arrived yet or the student has not completed the prerequisite steps.


Both dates and requirements can be found by viewing the content link in the module.  For more information, check out the detailed description about viewing locked content details in the Canvas Guides.


Note: If students believe they should have access and the content is locked by mistake, they should contact their instructor via Canvas Messaging.  The Canvas Helpdesk will not unlock content for students...only instructors control access to their course content.